You are here

Back to top

Literature Lovers' Night Out

Four more outstanding authors!  

MINOR DRAMAS AND OTHER CATASTROPHES  by Kathleen West  In a book that deals with dramas minor rather than major but is just as good as Liane Moriarty’s Big Little Lies, debut author West offers a sharp, unflinching look at her characters: teachers and administrators trying to do—and keep—their jobs; busy, high-powered parents who buy the best they can for their families; helicopter mothers who see themselves as the omniscient beings who control their children’s lives; and the high school students themselves, who sometimes have to learn about kindness and mentoring, bullying and inappropriate behavior by judging their parents’ and teachers’ actions rather than those of their peers.  An excellent, nuanced exploration of the world of high school and the students and adults who live within it.  (Kirkus Reviews)

YOU WERE THERE TOO  by Colleen Oakley Mia Graydon’s life looks picket-fence perfect; she has the house, her loving husband, and dreams of starting a family. But she has other dreams too—unexplained, recurring ones starring the same man. Still, she doesn’t think much of it, until a relocation to small-town Pennsylvania brings her face to face with the stranger she has been dreaming about for years. And this man harbors a jaw-dropping secret of his own—he’s been dreaming of her too.  Determined to understand, Mia and this not-so-stranger search for answers. But when diving into their pasts begins to unravel her life in the present, Mia emerges with a single question—what if?  A heart-wrenching and unforgettable love story about a woman who must choose between the man she loves and the man fate has chosen for her, in a novel that reminds us that the best life is one led by the heart.

AUTHOR IN CHIEF by Craig Fehrman  “From the very beginnings of America’s experiment in republican government, its chief executives, both actual and aspiring, have put pen to paper (nowadays fingers to keyboard) in attempts to justify themselves and inspire others. Here, Fehrman records such literary efforts back to Jefferson and Adams. . . . Both history buffs and politics enthusiasts will relish this.”Booklist (starred review)

A GOOD NEIGHBORHOOD by Therese Fowler  For fans of Celeste Ng and Jodi Picoult, a stunning page-turner about two very different families living side by side in an idyllic neighborhood - and the summer that changes their lives forever.  What happens when you try to do the right thing but it all goes wrong?  A Good Neighborhood asks big questions about life in America today. what does it mean to be a good neighbor? How do we live alongside each other when we don't see eye to eye? ? as it explores the effects of class, race, and heartrending love in a story that’s as provocative as it is powerful.

Tickets ($20 (plus tax and fees) and are currently available at https://www.lit-lovers.com

 

 

Event Date: 
Monday, March 23, 2020 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm
Address: 
Trinity Episcopal Church
322 Second St.
Excelsior, MN 55331
Books: 
Minor Dramas & Other Catastrophes Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780593098400
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Berkley - February 4th, 2020

You Were There Too Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781984806468
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Berkley - January 7th, 2020

Author in Chief: The Untold Story of Our Presidents and the Books They Wrote Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781476786391
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Avid Reader Press / Simon & Schuster - February 11th, 2020

A Good Neighborhood: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250237279
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: St. Martin's Press - March 10th, 2020