You are here

Back to top

Literature Lovers' Night Out™️

Join us on October 17th for another fantastic LITERATURE LOVERS' NIGHT OUT program featuring - 

Julie Schumacher

“Schumacher abandons the epistolary style of her previous novel for a straight narrative but retains all of its acid satire in a sequel that is far more substantive and just as funny…. A witty but kindhearted academic satire that oscillates between genuine compassion and scathing mockery with admirable dexterity.”
— Kirkus, starred review 

“…satirizes the pitfalls of academia with searing wit, skewering everything from the abominable faculty offices to the eccentric personalities throughout the university. Beneath the comedy lies a tragic commentary on the state of higher education…. _ The Shakespeare Requirement _offers a desperately funny take on campus foibles, as Schumacher stretches reality to the boundaries of absurdity in this raucous underdog tale.”
— Booklist

 Julie Schumacher’s first novel, The Body Is Water(Soho Press 1995) was an ALA Notable Book of the Year and a finalist for the PEN/Hemingway Award. She is also the author of Doodling for Academics, a coloring and activity book for scholars; five novels for young readers; a collection of short stories; and the nationally best-selling Dear Committee Members, which won the Thurber Prize for American Humor. She is the only woman to have received the Thurber Prize. Schumacher is a professor of Creative Writing and English at the University of Minnesota.

 

 

Louise Miller

“The Late Bloomers’ Club is a downright delightful read… It has everything you want from a small town summer read: sweetness, charm, and a side of romance.” –HelloGiggles

“As warm and cozy as buttered brioche and tea next to the fireplace on a winter morning… will appeal to fans of Jan Karon’s ‘Mitford’ books and Jennifer Chiaverini’s ‘Elm Creek Quilts’ series.” –Library Journal

“Heartwarming, charming and utterly fascinating, The Late Bloomers’ Club is a beautifully rendered peek behind the scenes of a small town, its community and its mysteries. I adored this novel.”  –Patti Callahan Henry, New York Times bestselling author of The Bookshop at Water’s End

Louise Miller is a writer and pastry chef living in Boston, MA. Her debut novel, THE CITY BAKER’S GUIDE TO COUNTRY LIVING was selected as an Indie Next pick by the American Booksellers Association, a Library Reads pick by Librarians across the U.S., and was shortlisted by the America Library Association’s Reading List Council for best women’s fiction in 2017.  Her 2nd novel, THE LATE BLOOMERS’ CLUB, will be published in July 2018. In addition to baking and writing, Louise is an art school dropout, an amateur flower gardener, an old-time banjo player, an obsessive moviegoer, and a champion of old dogs.

 

Sarah Stonich

"Hilarious, smart, moving and kind, Laurentian Divide is good for the soul, or anyway, it was good for mine."  Richard Russo

“With a nimble hand and wry voice Sarah Stonich pilots this generous tale…incisive and musical, spiced with pungent observation, so that Laurentian Divide becomes the best sort of trip…” 
Leif Enger, author of Peace Like a River and Virgil Wander

"Laurentian Divide is rich, funny, and overflowing with life—Sarah Stonich at the top of her powers.” 
Will Weaver, author of Sweet Land

Sarah Stonich is author of the critically acclaimed novels Vacationland (Minnesota, 2013), The Ice Chorus, and These Granite Islands (Minnesota, 2013) as well as Fishing with RayAnne (writing as Ava Finch). The founder of WordStalkers.com, she lives in Minneapolis in a repurposed flour mill.

Event Date: 
Wednesday, October 17, 2018 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm
Address: 
Trinity Church
322 Second Street
Excelsior, MN 55331
Books: 
The Shakespeare Requirement: A Novel Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9780385542340
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Doubleday - August 14th, 2018

The Late Bloomers' Club: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781101981238
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Pamela Dorman Books - July 17th, 2018

Laurentian Divide: A Novel Cover Image
$22.95
ISBN: 9781517905620
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Univ Of Minnesota Press - September 18th, 2018